General information

The Chirchik River that irrigates the Tashkent oasis flows down from the sides of the Talass Alatau and its southwestern spurs. “Chirchik” means a swift-flowing, impetuous river or “four rivers” (“cher-chik”) from the Tajik. The Ugam, Koksu, Chatkal and Pskem are the main rivers bringing their waters into the Chirchik River. The area of the Chirchik River basin is 18,061 km2. length is 155 km, and from the source of the Chatkal - 328 km. The average flow rate is 221 m3/sec in the source. Before construction of the Charvak reservoir, the Chirchik River was formed by confluence of the two main rivers: the Chatkal – from the left side, and the Pskem – from the right side. The Pskem River takes origin in the Talass Alatau glaciers that are numerous on the left head of the river called Maidantal. The river has a pebbly channel which incises into the ancient glacier valley. From its left side, a number of short tributaries originating from glaciers inflow to it. After confluence with the Oygaing – the largest left tributary of the Maidantal, - the river is called Pskem.



By changing its course to the west, the Pskem cuts through the high Turpakbel spur. Here, 8 km long, it forms a narrow and deep canyon between solid granites that rise absolutely sheer in some areas. Flowing out to the valley, the Pskem receives water from its last significant tributary, the so called Anaulgan, from the right, and changes again its course to the southwest and incises deep into conglomerations and red beds. The overall Pskem length starting from the Chatan streams is 120 km. The Chatkal originates in a snowy ravine of the southwestern Talass Alatau spurs, it is formed by the Karakaspa that flows down from the Karabura pass and by the Karakuldgy River that joins its waters in the junction point of the Chatkal ridge with Talass one. Up to the Idrispaygambara, the Chatkal flows in a wide ancient glacier valley. After joining the Sandalash on the right, its largest tributary, the Chatkal transforms into a vigorous river. Downstream of the confluence with the Ters, the Chatkal enters to a deep gorge where the stream gradient increases sharply.

The reservoir of Charvak HPS is located in the Chirchik upstream. Upstream of the Gazalkent dam, on the average 183 m3/sec of water is delivered to the Chirchik-Bozsu cascade of power plants from the Chirchik, through the right upper diversion Bozsu canal; the Karasu canal diverts to the left upstream of the Troitskaya dam (discharge - 47 m3/sec); and downstream, the Chirchik feeds other canals.

After the Charvak reservoir, only two rather large tributaries flow into the Chirchik – Ugam and Aksakatasay. The Chirchik flows in the canyon in the upper reaches (about 30 km), and its valley extends in the lower reaches and is poorly marked.

As soon as the Chirchik escapes to the plain, its water is intensively diverted for irrigation and hydropower generation, therefore, the river water content decreases. The river feeding is mixed, with domination of snow. Upstream of the Gazalkent dam, the Bozsu canal diverts to the right from the Chirchik, the Karasu canal diverts to the left upstream of the Troitskaya dam, the Chirchik feeds other canals downstream. The cities of Gazalkent, Chirchik, Tashkent; as well as rural settlements of Charvak, Iskander, Bektemir and Almazar are located in the river valley.

Бассейн реки Чирчик

Оперативные данные по водозаборам

Выберите год:




Таблицы с данными открываются
в новом окне

Источник: БВО «Сырдарья»

Карта бассейна

Общие сведения о бассейне р. Чирчик

Река Чирчик, орошающая своими водами Ташкентский оазис, стекает со склонов Таласского Алатау и его юго-западных отрогов. Название «Чирчик» означает быстрая, стремительная река или в переводе с таджикского означает «четыре реки» («чер-чик»). Угам, Кок-Су, Чаткал и Пскем являются основными реками, впадающими в реку Чирчик. Площадь бассейна Чирчика достигает 18061 кв. км. Длина 155 км, от истоков Чаткала 328 км. Средний расход воды в истоке 221 м3/с. До строительства Чарвакского водохранилища, Чирчик образовывался слияния двух главных рек: Чаткала с левой стороны и Пскема с правой стороны. Река Пскем получает начало в ледниках Таласского Алатау, особенно развитых и многочисленных в левой вершине реки, называемой Майданталом. Река протекает по широкому галечному руслу, врезанному в древнюю ледниковую долину. Слева она принимает ряд коротких притоков, вытекающих из ледников. По слиянии с Ойгаингом, крупнейшим левым притоком Майдантала, река получает название Пскем.



Изменяя свое течение на западное, Пскем разрезает высокий Турпакбельский отрог. Здесь, на протяжении 8 км, он образует узкое и глубокое ущелье, зажатое среди гранитных скал, поднимающихся местами совершенно отвесно. Выйдя в долину, Пскем принимает справа последний значительный приток, так называемый Анаульган, и вновь изменяет свое течение на юго-западное, глубоко врезаясь в конгломераты и красные песчаники. Общая длина Пскема, считая от потоков Чатана, 120 км. Чаткал получает начало в снеговых ущельях юго-западных склонов Таласского Алатау, слагаясь из Каракаспака, текущего с перевала Карабура, и реки Каракульджи, собирающей свои воды в стыке Чаткальского хребта с Таласским. До Идрис-пайгамбара Чаткал течет в широкой древнеледниковой долине. Приняв справа Сандалаш, свой крупнейший приток, Чаткал превращается в мощную реку. Ниже впадения Терса, Чаткал входит в глубокую теснину, в которой падение его резко увеличивается.

В верховьях реки Чирчик расположено водохранилище Чарвакской ГЭС. Выше Газалкентской плотины из Чирчика по правому верхнему деривационному каналу Бозсу на Чирчик-Бозсуйский каскад ГЭС подаётся в среднем 183 м3/с воды; выше Троицкой плотины отходит влево канал Карасу (расход — 47 м3/с), ниже Чирчик питает другие каналы.

После Чарвакского водохранилища Чирчик принимает только два сравнительно крупных притока - Угам и Аксакатасай. На верхнем участке (около 30 км) Чирчик течет в каньоне, ниже долина расширяется и выражена слабо.

По выходе Чирчика на равнину воды его интенсивно разбираются на орошение и для нужд гидроэнергетики в связи с чем водоносность реки уменьшается. Питание смешанное, с преобладанием снегового. Выше Газалкентской плотины из Чирчика отходит вправо Бозсуйский канал, выше Троицкой плотины отходит влево канал Карасу, ниже Чирчик питает другие каналы. В долине реки расположены города Газалкент, Чирчик, Ташкент; а также посёлки Чарвак, Искандар, Бектемир и Алмазар.