CA Water-Info

Map | Search | -

Staffing of water-management organizations

The important components of water-management organizations capacity are: 1) institutional potential; 2) human potential; and, 3) technological potential.

Human potential is determined by staff size of WMO, educational background and service record of the staff, as well as by relevance of responsibilities, powers and rewards. No effective performance of WMO can be achieved if its staff has many responsibilities, little powers and inadequate remuneration of their labor. Staff members need to know what they may expect, feel that they can achieve the desired results and have a personal interest in job execution.

The staffing profile and salaries of WMO (in Uzbekistan) are set on annual basis through staffing plans registered at the Ministry of Finances and approved by the Ministry of Agriculture and Water Resources. The staff of WMO is comprised of administration, operational staff, and support staff.

Major positions in WMO are as follows:

  • Head
  • First deputy head
  • Deputy head
  • Senior human resources officer
  • Lawyer
  • Head of division (section)
  • Senior officer
  • Chief accountant
  • Chief economist
  • Leading water engineer
  • Leading hydrometry engineer
  • Hydraulic engineer
  • 1st category water engineer
  • 2nd category water engineer
  • Hydrometry engineer
  • Control engineer
  • 1st category control engineer
  • 2nd category control engineer
  • 1st category hydrotechnician
  • 2nd category hydrotechnician
  • 1st category technician
  • 2nd category technician
  • Supervisor
  • Others

Staffing of WMO is to proceed from the adopted regulations that are based on:

  • Specifications of equipment and structures;
  • Quantitative factors that impact staff size;
  • Man-hours for repair and maintenance of equipment;
  • Functions of operational personnel, etc.

Recent decade, a decline in WMOs staff size has been observed in Uzbekistan. This is especially visible in administration.



Figure 1. Decline in WMOs staff size (total) over 2008-2013



Figure 2. Decline in WMOs administration size over 2008-2013

The cause of annual decline in staff size of WMOs key divisions is not clear as neither shrinkage in irrigated area, reduction of hydrotechnical constructions and cutting of irrigation and drainage systems nor visible increase in equipping of WMOs with motor vehicles, telemetry and automation facilities that could somehow cause reduction in operation efforts took place those years. Moreover, if one bears in mind that recently dry years have become more frequent and that WMO employees have been assigned additional functions (not recorded in job descriptions) to assist WUAs and farmers during sowing, watering and harvesting, then, in essence, workload of WMOs staff increased rather than decreased.

Particularly surprising is the reduction of staff in such divisions of BISAs and ISAs that serve the key mission of the latter, namely organization of water delivery. Those divisions include operations control and water balance and hydrometry divisions.

Author: Mirzaev N.N., SIC ICWC

Штат водных организаций

Важнейшей составляющей потенциала водохозяйственной организации является 1) организационный потенциал 2) человеческий потенциал и 3) технический потенциал.

Человеческий потенциал определяется численностью штата ВХО, уровнем образования персонала и его трудовым стажем, а также соответствием между системами обязанностей, полномочий и вознаграждений. Нельзя рассчитывать на то, что ВХО будет успешно функционировать, когда у работников много обязанностей, мало полномочий и неадекватное вознаграждение за их труд. Персоналу необходимо знать, что их ожидает, чувствовать, что они могут добиться желаемого результата, и иметь личный интерес для выполнения задания.

Штат и заработная плата персонала ВХО (Узбекистан) устанавливается ежегодно на основе штатных таблиц, зарегистрированных в Министерстве финансов РУз. и утвержденных МСВХ. Штат ВХО состоит из административно-управляющего персонала (АУП), производственного (ПРП) и вспомогательного персонала.

Основными штатными должностями ВХО являются следующие:

  • Начальник
  • Первый заместитель начальника.
  • Зам. начальника.
  • Главный специалист по кадрам.
  • Юрисконсульт.
  • Начальник отдела (сектора).
  • Главный специалист.
  • Главный бухгалтер.
  • Главный экономист.
  • Ведущий инженер-гидротехник.
  • Ведущий инженер-гидрометр.
  • Инженер-гидротехник.
  • Инженер-гидротехник 1 категории.
  • Инженер-гидротехник 2 категории.
  • Инженер-гидрометр.
  • Диспетчер.
  • Диспетчер 1 категории.
  • Диспетчер 2 категории.
  • Гидротехник 1 категории.
  • Гидротехник 2 категории.
  • Техник 1 категории.
  • Техник 2 категории.
  • Наблюдатель.
  • Другие.

Штат ВХО должен формироваться на основе утвержденных нормативных документов, в основу разработки которых должны быть положены:

  • Технические характеристики оборудований и сооружений;
  • Количественные значения факторов, влияющих на численность;
  • Нормы времени на ремонт и техническое обслуживание оборудования;
  • Функции эксплуатационного персонала и др.

В последние десять лет наблюдается тенденция к снижению штата ВХО (Узбекистан). Наиболее существенно сокращение штата коснулось персонала АУП.



Рис. 1. Снижение численности штата ВХО (всего) за 2008-2013 гг.



Рис. 2. Снижение численности штата АУП ВХО за 2008-2013 гг.

Причина ежегодного сокращения штата ключевых подразделений ВХО не понятна, так как в эти годы не имели место сокращение орошаемых площадей, уменьшение числа гидротехнических сооружений и протяженности гидромелиоративных систем, не имело место и заметное повышение уровня оснащенности ВХО автотранспортными средствами, средствами телемеханики и автоматики, которые могли бы вызвать сокращение объема эксплуатационных работ. А если учесть, что в последнее время участились маловодные годы, а также то, что на работников ВХО возложены дополнительные функции (не прописанные в должностных инструкциях) по оказанию помощи АВП и фермерам (работа в «группах») в период сева, полива и уборки урожая сельхозкультур, то можно сказать, что, фактически, объем работ у персонала ВХО скорее увеличился , нежели уменьшился.

В особенности вызывает недоумение то, что сокращения штатов коснулись таких подразделений БУИС и УИС, которые предназначены для выполнения их основной миссии – организации водопоставки: диспетчерская служба, отдел водного баланса и гидрометрии.

Избранная библиография

Ресурсы