Management functions and levels

The key levels of water supply and water use management are national, basin, system, WUA, and farm.

The main types of WMOs (in case of Uzbekistan) are the Central Water Management Administration (CWMA), Basin Irrigation System Authorities (BISA), Irrigation System Authorities (ISA), Main Canal Authority (MCA), Pumping Station Administrations (PSA), and Association of Hydrogeology and Land Reclamation Field Offices (AHLRFO).

WMO meets its mission on the basis of its By-Laws, according to which the key objectives of WMO are as follows:

  • Ensure intended and efficient use of water resources and maintain the established regime of water use in the irrigation system as a whole;
  • Sound and responsive management of water resources in the irrigation system;
  • Maintain reliability of operation of the irrigation system and hydraulic structures;
  • Prepare the irrigation system for reliable operation and maintain the system;
  • Accurate record keeping of withdrawn and delivered water;
  • Adopt water saving technologies; improve efficiency and ensure proper use of allocated funds and materials, equipment and machines.

The main functions of WMO include:

  • Drawing, adjustment and fulfillment of water distribution plans.
  • Preparation and fulfillment of work plans on maintenance, repair and protection of facilities along the irrigation systems.
  • Monitoring and evaluation.
  • Improvement of water and land supply and water demand management, modernization of irrigation and drainage systems, etc.

Author: Mirzaev N.N., SIC ICWC